ScamVictimsUnited.com

There is strength in numbers.

Scams in Today's News:

Bookmark and Share
It is currently Mon Apr 29, 2024 3:48 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Story and Advice needed (also posted in Other Scams Sorry!!)
PostPosted: Sun Jun 19, 2005 7:41 pm 

Hi everyone, I am new to this message board but I am thankful that I found it before I made any serious mistakes.

I do need some insight into a situation. (this may be a bit lengthy)

Here is the story...

Two weeks ago, I signed up with alibaba . com, and have received numerous emails about receiving commision on payments accepted on behalf of companies. After receiving my first email I thought wow, this is great and I responded letting the party know that I will surely be their "payment agent". In the back of my mind I had my doubts and I figured that its worth a shot. However my suspicions on any fradulent activity grew when I would receive duplicate emails from the same company but from different email addresses, and also duplicates when I had already responded to them. I figured that it was probably a mistake and proceeded to continue with any business dealings that I encountered. So far I am now a so called official payment agent for 5 companies.

Now here is what convinced me further to watch these activities

I was instructed to call a person to collect payment. I was given a number, and before I called it I put a search on the number only to discover it was from an area code in Canada. I talked to the person who sounded African, and he said payment will be sent to me shortly.

(At this time I kept a log of every conversation, phone number, company & their associates etc.) I did this because I figured I do not want to get any so called clients mixed up since the number of clients seemed to be growing.

So here I am, I have contacted 3 clients who owe these companies money. As I spoke to each one I became more suspicious.

Here is where it gets a little interesting